• English
  • Français
Become a member

The Importance of Recognition

Image of awards and stars
Date: 20 Jul, 2020

“The human spirit thrives on positive reinforcement; we all need to be praised for our achievements.” – Doris Christopher, Founder, The Pampered Chef

Recognizing the achievements of peers is a simple, yet profoundly meaningful act. Not only does it make people feel good, both those giving and receiving the recognition, but it also an important step in creating a feedback loop of heightened energy, effort and success.

As conveyed by Doris Christopher, direct selling companies have become experts at both formal and ad hoc expressions of praise. Likewise, DSA Canada is proud of our awards program, developed to acknowledge achievement and distinguished service.

Starting with the Ivan P. Phelan Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the direct selling industry in Canada, and named for the long-time AVON executive and DSA servant in 1988, we now have a suite of awards presented annually. Winners across these awards have included DSA Board members who have been leaders in advocacy, volunteers who have committed many hours to DSA causes, companies who have developed product breakthroughs and who have given back to their communities, distinguished academics and supplier community members, and sales consultants who are the best of the best.

Winning an award also provides companies with free brand recognition, consumer credibility, and helps to attract and retain new employees and customers—after all who wouldn’t want to work for, or deal with, a company that is recognized as a leader in its industry?

2020 has been a unique year, but this makes our awards even more important than ever. We can’t wait to get together, in person or virtually, later in the year to celebrate all that is good about direct selling in Canada. We’re excited to see who will join the following list of some of our past prominent Canadian direct selling award winners:

Linda Herron (Electrolux Corporation of Canada Inc.), Ivan P. Phelan Award, 1998,

Roberta Creber (lia sophia Canada, LP), DSEF Circle of Distinction Award, 2013,

Nu Skin Canada, Industry Innovation Award, 2007,

Billie Long (Arbonne ISC), Community Spirit Award, 2012, and

Rena Nong Ren (USANA ISC), Mark of Distinction Award, 2019.

Submitting a nomination, particularly for the ISC and company awards, is quick and should be an annual exercise for every member company.

“Everyone wants to be appreciated, so if you appreciate someone, don’t keep it a secret.” – Mary Kay Ash, Founder, Mary Kay Cosmetics